Small opportunities

April 25, 2010

Jonathan has been preaching through some of Jesus’ parables. Speaking about the parable of the soils, he said that the Christian faith is a fruit bearing plant. “If what you have seems to be a plant, but it’s not producing fruit, I don’t know what you have, but it’s not Christianity!” he said. And last weeks message was about the Good Samaritan. The Pharisee inquiring, “Who’s my neighbor?” asked the wrong question. Rather, Jesus taught that we should ask, “What kind of neighbor am I?”

With this in mind, I have been praying for opportunities to be a doer. Tonight on my way home from work I noticed a moving truck sitting outside my neighbor’s, who is a divorced woman. I wondered if she might need some help. The last thing I felt like doing was helping out after a long day. As I prepared my dinner, I kept feeling like I should go offer my assistance. So I went and simply asked her if she might be in need. Her response: “I’ve got things lined up, but thanks for being a good neighbor!”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

