Home from Germany

April 11, 2011

I arrived home last night from my trip. In the next few days I will be posting pictures and reflections from my trip. I do not think that I will post anything from my meetings with the professors, but if you would like to find out about my experiences feel free to talk to me in person or send me an email. Let me say, however, that I am glad I went on this trip and got to meet the professors face-to-face. As a result, I feel very confident about where I would like to study and the direction to take now.

In this post, let me bring you up to speed with an overview of pictures from the trip. Enjoy.

Overlooking Tübingen from Oz’s appartment in the morning. Quite a view! Can you spot the castle in the distance?

A statue in Tübingen’s old botanical gardens

This man was siting outside one of Tübingen’s old cathedrals. When he was done reading the paper, he picked up his chair and carried it away with him.

Inside of Stiftskirche (Tübingen)

An old Bible in Stiftskirche

Overlooking Tübingen’s Neckar

Tübingen’s famous photo spot

A view from Tübingen’s castle, which now houses the university’s archeology department

Inside of St. Johanneskirche (Tübingen)

Good by Tübingen, hello Heidelberg!

Exploring the streets of Heidelberg’s Altstadt

The cities had incredible used book stores. I managed to limit myself to five new-used books. HJ asked me what I got, and she was not surprised when I said, “books.”

Inside of Heidelberg’s Peterskirche


Karlstor, leading into Heidelberg’s Altstadt

The famous Brückentor over the Alte Brücke

overlooking Heidelberg from Heidelberg’s Schloss

Within Heidelberg’s Schloss (castle)


Heidelberg’s Heiliggeistkirche






After my meeting on Saturday morning I spent the whole day hiking. I simply could not take another picture of any more buildings. I needed to get away, spend some time in the woods, and think and pray. There were plenty of woods and trails in the forests surrounding Heidleberg. I especially like hiking in pine forests, such as the one pictured. I was amazed at the types of people I saw one my hikes — 70 and 80 year olds walking and biking and climbing mountains!
The mountain trail I hiked led to this structure. The picture below tells about it.



Good bye Germany, I hope to see you soon!

6 Responses to “Home from Germany”

  1. The Urchins said

    Germany’s a beautiful and inspiring place! I spent a wonderful year there in Duesseldorf and Bonn. Thanks for posting these photos – they bring back great memories.

    - M. of The Urchins

  2. Sara Bowden said

    I want to go to germany!

  3. Andy
    These pictures are phenomenal! I think I’m almost inspired enough to learn German. I’m sure your time over there was fruitful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

